City of Cape Town

Are you a resident of City of Cape Town? Have your say on service delivery in this 2 minute survey which will form part of our report to parliament. Take action now!

City of Cape Town information

MDB code: CPT Area: 2 446km²

Geography, History & Economy

The City of Cape Town Metropolitan Municipality is a Category A municipality and is situated in the southern peninsula of the Western Cape Province. It has a coastline of 294km. It stretches from Gordon’s Bay to Atlantis and includes the suburbs of Khayelitsha and Mitchells Plain.
The municipalities adjacent to it are Swartland and West Coast to the north; Drakenstein, Cape Winelands and Stellenbosch to the north-east; and Theewaterskloof, Overberg and Overstrand to the south-east. It is also bounded by the Atlantic Ocean to the south and west.
The City is South Africa’s second-largest economic centre and second most populous city after Johannesburg. It is the provincial capital and primate city of the Western Cape, as well as the legislative capital of South Africa, where the National Parliament and many government offices are located.
The City is famous for its harbour, as well as its natural setting in the Cape Floral Kingdom, including such well-known landmarks as Table Mountain and Cape Point. It is hailed as one of the most beautiful cities in the world as officially recognised by Forbes. It is also Africa’s most popular tourist destination. Being the oldest city in South Africa, it is affectionately known as ‘The Mother City’.


Athlone, Atlantis, Belhar, Bellville, Blackheath, Blouberg, Blue Downs, Brackenfell, Cape Point, Cape Town, Delft, Durbanville, Elsies Rivier, Fish Hoek, Goodwood, Gordon’s Bay, Grassy Park, Guguletu, Hout Bay, Khayelitsha, Kommetjie, Kraaifontein, Kuils River, Langa, Macassar, Matroosfontein, Melkbosstrand, Milnerton, Mitchells Plain, Muizenberg, Noordhoek, Nyanga, Parow, Philadelphia, Philippi, Robben Island, Scarborough, Simon’s Town, Sir Lowry’s Pass, Somerset West, Southern Suburbs, Strand, Table View

Main Economic Sectors:

Finance and business services (36.1%), manufacturing (16.1%), trade and hospitality (15.6%), community services and general government (15.0%), transport, storage and communication (11.2%), construction (4.1), electricity (1.1%), agriculture (0.7%), mining (0.1%) – Source IDP 2015/16

2016 2011
Population 4 005 016 3 740 026
Age Structure
Population under 15 26.0% 24.8%
Population 15 to 64 67.7% 69.6%
Population over 65 6.2% 5.5%
Dependency Ratio
Per 100 (15-64) 47.6 43.6
Sex Ratio
Males per 100 females 96.9 95.9
Population Growth
Per annum 1.56% n/a
Labour Market
Unemployment rate (official) n/a 23.9%
Youth unemployment rate (official) 15-34 n/a 31.9%
Education (aged 20 +)
No schooling 2.0% 1.8%
Matric 34.0% 29.8%
Higher education 14.4% 16.6%
Household Dynamics
Households 1 264 949 1 068 573
Average household size 3.2 3.3
Female headed households 40.0% 38.2%
Formal dwellings 81.6% 78.4%
Housing owned 68.7% 54.2%
Household Services
Flush toilet connected to sewerage 91.0% 88.2%
Weekly refuse removal 87.8% 94.3%
Piped water inside dwelling 76.7% 75.0%
Electricity for lighting 97.2% 94.0%

Council & Management

Composition of Council:
DA 154, ANC 56, EFF 7, ACDP 3, ALJAMA 2, AIC 1, CMC 1, COPE 1, DI 1, PAC 1, PA 1, UDM 1, VF PLUS 1
Controlling Party:
Executive Mayor:
Mr Dan Plato (Executive Mayor)
Deputy Mayor:
Mr Ian Neilson (Deputy Mayor and Finance)
Mr Dirk Smit
Chief Whip:
Ms Desiree Visagie
Other Council:
Mr Zahid Badrioodien (MMC: Community Services and Health)
Mr Malusi Booi (MMC: Human Settlements)
Ms Sharon Cottle (MMC: Corporate Services)
Ms Xanthea Limberg (MMC: Water and Waste)
Mr Phindile Maxiti (MMC: Energy and Climate Change)
Ms Marian Nieuwoudt (MMC: Planning and Environment)
Ms Felicity Purchase (MMC: Transport)
Mr JP Smith (MMC: Safety and Security)
Mr Grant Twigg (MMC: Urban Management)
Mr James Vos (MMC: Economic Opportunities and Asset Management)
Municipal Manager:
Mr Lungelo Mbandazayo (City Manager)
Chief Financial Officer:
Mr Kevin Jacoby (Executive Director: Finance)
Senior Management:
Mr Richard Bosman (Executive Director: Safety and Security)
Mr Gershwin Fortune (Acting Executive Director: Transport and Urban Development Authority)
Ms Gisela Kaiser (Executive Director: Informal Settlements, Water and Waste Services)
Mr Craig Kesson (Executive Director: Corporate Services)
Ms Kelcy Le-Keur (Executive Director: Assets and Facilities Management)
Mr Kadri Nassiep (Executive Director: Energy)
Mr Ernest Sass (Executive Director: Social Services)
Mr Louis Scheepers (Executive Director: Area-based Service Delivery)
Mr Bevan van Schoor (Acting Executive Director: Area-based Service Delivery)
Communications Officers:
Ms Priya Reddy (Director: Communication)

Contact Details

Postal Private Bag X9181, Cape Town, 8000
Physical Civic Centre, 12 Hertzog Boulevard, Cape Town
Tel 021 400 1111/0860 103 089
Fax 021 400 1313/0860 103 090
Web www.capetown.gov.za

Resident Queries

Accounts 086 010 3089
Electricity 086 010 3089
Refuse & Waste 086 010 3089
Roads 086 010 3089
Service Delivery 086 010 3089
Water 086 010 3089