Buffalo City

Are you a resident of Buffalo City? Have your say on service delivery in this 2 minute survey which will form part of our report to parliament. Take action now!

Buffalo City information

MDB code: BUF Area: 2 750km²

Geography, History & Economy

The Buffalo City Metropolitan Municipality is a Category A municipality situated on the east coast of the Eastern Cape Province. The boundaries of the newly established municipality now include a large area characterised by very different features. Two former municipalities, Transitional Local Councils – that of East London and King William’s Town – have merged into one. Other areas that were previously not included in either of them are now part of Buffalo City.
The municipality was established as a local municipality in 2000 after South Africa’s reorganisation of municipal areas and is named after the Buffalo River, at whose mouth lies the only river port in South Africa. On 18 May 2011 it was separated from the Amathole District Municipality and converted into a metropolitan municipality. History was made in Buffalo City when the City elected its first female mayor on Friday, 17 March 2006.
The area has a well-developed manufacturing base, with the auto industry playing a major role. The climate is mild, with year-round sunshine. Average rainfall is 850mm.


Beacon Bay, Berlin, Bisho, Breidbach, Dimbaza, East London, Kidd’s Beach, King William’s Town, Mdantsane, Phakamisa, Potsdam, Zwelitsha

Main Economic Sectors:

Community services (25%), finance (24%), manufacturing (24%), trade (12%), transport (12%)

2016 2011
Population 834 997 781 027
Age Structure
Population under 15 31.6% 26.5%
Population 15 to 64 64.4% 67.4%
Population over 65 4.1% 6.1%
Dependency Ratio
Per 100 (15-64) 55.4 48.4
Sex Ratio
Males per 100 females 93.8 90.4
Population Growth
Per annum 1.52% n/a
Labour Market
Unemployment rate (official) n/a n/a
Youth unemployment rate (official) 15-34 n/a n/a
Education (aged 20 +)
No schooling 4.0% 5.0%
Matric 31.0% 26.2%
Higher education 13.7% 12.8%
Household Dynamics
Households 253 477 230 515
Average household size 3.3 3.2
Female headed households 45.3% 45.9%
Formal dwellings 70.2% 71.9%
Housing owned 54.2% 50.5%
Household Services
Flush toilet connected to sewerage 73.1% 66.8%
Weekly refuse removal 57.1% 68.3%
Piped water inside dwelling 50.2% 51.1%
Electricity for lighting 86.6% 81.1%

Council & Management

Composition of Council:
ANC 60, DA 24, EFF 8, AIC 4, ACDP 1, COPE 1, PAC 1, UDM 1
Controlling Party:
Mr Xola Pakati (Executive Mayor)
Deputy Mayor:
Zoliswa Matana
Alfred Mtsi
Chief Whip:
Mzwandile Vaaiboom
Other Council:
Ncedo Kumbanca (MMC: Engineering and Infrastructure)
Mawethu Marata (MMC: Local Economic Development)
Nozandile Mhlola (MMC: Human Settlements)
Ayanda Myute (MMC: Health and Public Safety)
Pumla Nazo-Makathala (MMC: Development)
Helen Neale-May (MMC: Community Services)
Nontsikelelo Peter (MMC: Finance)
Sindile Toni (MMC: Corporate Services)
Xolani Witbooi (MMC: Special Programmes)
Municipal Manager:
Mr Andile Sihlahla
Chief Financial Officer:
Mr Siyabulela Peter
Senior Management:
Vuyani Lwana (HOD: Health and Public Safety)
Nonceba Mbali-Majeng (HOD: Spatial Development Planning)
Luyanda Mbula (HOD: Chief Operating Officer)
Bob Naidoo (HOD: Corporate Services)
Noludwe Ncokazi (HOD: LED)
Nceba Ncunyana (HOD: Infrastructure Services)
Ncumisa Sidukwana (HOD: Executive Support Services)
Kholekile Tapile (Acting HOD: Municipal Services)
Communications Officers:
Mr Samkelo Ngwenya

Contact Details

Postal PO Box 134, East London, 5200
Physical 117 Oxford Street, Cnr North & Oxford Streets, Trust Centre, East London
Tel 043 705 2000
Fax 043 743 1688
Web www.buffalocity.gov.za

Resident Queries

Accounts 043 705 3504
Electricity 043 705 9220
Refuse & Waste 043 705 2000
Roads 043 705 2000
Service Delivery 043 705 2000
Water 043 705 2000