Nelson Mandela Bay

Are you a resident of City of Nelson Mandela Bay? Have your say on service delivery in this 2 minute survey which will form part of our report to parliament. Take action now!

City of Nelson Mandela Bay information

MDB code: NMA Area: 1 957km²

Geography, History & Economy

The Nelson Mandela Bay Metropolitan Municipality is a Category A municipality, established on 5 December 2000. Nelson Mandela Bay was the first city in South Africa to establish a fully integrated democratic local authority and the only city in the world named after Nelson Mandela, who was born and spent his formative years in the Eastern Cape.
Nelson Mandela Bay is a major seaport and automotive manufacturing centre located on the south-eastern coast of Africa. It is the economic powerhouse of the Eastern Cape Province and one of eight metropolitan areas in South Africa. Its boundaries are formed by Cassie Mountain View in the north, Cape Recife in the south, Sundays River Mouth in the east, and Van Stadens River Mouth in the west.
The city is a holiday hot spot for both national and international tourists. The predominant languages spoken are English, Afrikaans and isiXhosa.


Bethelsdorp, Bloemendal, Blue Horizon Bay, Clarendon Marine, Despatch, KwaNobuhle, Motherwell, Port Elizabeth, Summerstrand, Swartkops, Uitenhage

Main Economic Sectors:

Manufacturing (25%), community services (23%), finance (23%), trade (13%), transport (13%)

2016 2011
Population 1 263 051 1 152 115
Age Structure
Population under 15 30.6% 25.5%
Population 15 to 64 63.6% 68.5%
Population over 65 5.9% 6.0%
Dependency Ratio
Per 100 (15-64) 57.3 46.0
Sex Ratio
Males per 100 females 96.0 92.3
Population Growth
Per annum 2.09% n/a
Labour Market
Unemployment rate (official) n/a 36.6%
Youth unemployment rate (official) 15-34 n/a 47.3%
Education (aged 20 +)
No schooling 2.6% 3.0%
Matric 34.9% 30.5%
Higher education 11.1% 12.0%
Household Dynamics
Households 368 520 324 292
Average household size 3.4 3.4
Female headed households 41.6% 40.6%
Formal dwellings 92.5% 87.2%
Housing owned 68.4% 61.4%
Household Services
Flush toilet connected to sewerage 90.5% 87.4%
Weekly refuse removal 84.8% 82.9%
Piped water inside dwelling 77.3% 74.1%
Electricity for lighting 95.4% 90.5%

Council & Management

Composition of Council:
DA 57, ANC 50, EFF 6, UDM 2, ACDP 1, AIC 1, COPE 1, PA 1, UFEC 1
Controlling Party:
Hung Council
Executive Mayor:
Mr Mongameli Bobani
Deputy Mayor:
Tshono Buyeye
Ms Buyelwa Mafaya
Chief Whip:
Mr Bicks Ndoni
Other Council:
Ms Rosie Daaminds-Frolick (MMC: Roads and Transport)
Mr Makhi Feni (MMC: Corporate Services and Administration)
Mr Andile Lungisa (MMC: Infrastructure, Engineering, Electricity and Energy)
Ms Lehlonono Mafana (MMC: Sport, Arts and Culture)
Mr Andile Mfunda (MMC: Human Settlements)
Mr Mkuseli Mtsila (MMC: Budget and Treasury)
Ms Yolisa Pali (MMC: Public Health)
Ms Queenie Pink (MMC: Economic Development, Tourism and Agriculture)
Ms Ithumeleng Ranyele (MMC: Constituency Services)
Mr Litho Suka (MMC: Safety and Security)
Ms Phumza Tshanga (MPAC Chairperson)
Ms Yoliswa Yako (Head: Public Accounts Committee)
Municipal Manager:
Mrs Noxolo Nqwazi (Acting)
Chief Financial Officer:
Mr Jackson Ngcelwane ( Acting)
Senior Management:
Kristoff Adelbert (Chief of Staff)
Shane Brown (Acting Executive Director: Safety and Security)
Mzwake Clay (Chief Operating Officer)
Peter Neilson (Acting Executive Director: Electricity and Energy)
Noxolo Nqwazi (Executive Director: Sports, Recreation, Arts and Culture)
Mr Anele Qaba (Manager: LED)
Nolwandle Qgiba (Executive Director: Human Settlements)
Dr Walter Shaidi (Executive Director: Infrastructure and Engineering)
Andile Tolom (Executive Director: Public Health)
Vuyo Zitumane (Acting Executive Director: Corporate Services)
Communications Officers:
Mr Mzobanzi Jikazana
Mthubanzi Mniki (Municipal Spokesperson)

Contact Details

Postal PO Box 116, Port Elizabeth, 6000
Physical City Hall, Vuyisile Mini Square, Govan Mbeki Avenue, Nelson Mandela Bay
Tel 041 506 1911
Fax 041 506 2422
Web www.nelsonmandelabay.gov.za

Resident Queries

Accounts 041 506 5555
Electricity 041 374 4434
Refuse & Waste 041 506 2018
Roads 041 506 2428
Service Delivery 0800 20 50 50
Water 041 506 2258