Are you a resident of City of Johannesburg ? Have your say on service delivery in this 2 minute survey which will form part of our report to parliament. Take action now!

City Johannesburg information

MDB code: JHB Area:1 645km²

Geography, History & Economy

The City of Johannesburg Metropolitan Municipality is located in the Gauteng Province. Johannesburg is the most advanced commercial city in Africa and the engine room of the South African and regional economy. It is a city with a unique, African character, world-class infrastructure in the fields of telecommunications, transportation, water and power, and with globally-competitive health care and educational facilities. However, the city is also one of contrasts – home to both wealthy and poor, residents and refugees, global corporations and emerging enterprises.
The demographics of Johannesburg indicate a large and ethnically diverse metropolitan area. As the largest city in South Africa, its population is defined by a long history of local and international migration. Johannesburg is home to almost five million people, accounting for about 36% of Gauteng’s population and 8% of the national population.
Over the last decade the city has been growing. A key contributor to this is that the city continues to attract people from other provinces, and internationally, who are looking for better economic opportunities and quality of life. The population pyramid indicates that the city’s population is predominantly young. This can be attributed to migration from other parts of the country as young people look for jobs. Johannesburg is considered the economic hub of South Africa and is often the first choice of destination by job seekers across the country.


Alexandra, Diepkloof, Diepsloot, Ennerdale, Johannesburg, Johannesburg South, Lawley, Lenasia, Lenasia South, Meadowlands East, Meadowlands West, Midrand, Orange Farm, Pimville, Randburg, Roodepoort, Sandton, Soweto

Main Economic Sectors:

Finance and business services, community services, manufacturing, trade (collectively 82%)

2016 2011
Population 4 949 347 4 434 827
Age Structure
Population under 15 25.7% 23.2%
Population 15 to 64 68.9% 72.7%
Population over 65 5.4% 4.1%
Dependency Ratio
Per 100 (15-64) 45.1 37.6
Sex Ratio
Males per 100 females 100.3 100.7
Population Growth
Per annum 2.49% n/a
Labour Market
Unemployment rate (official) n/a 25.0%
Youth unemployment rate (official) 15-34 n/a 31.5%
Education (aged 20 +)
No schooling 3.4% 2.9%
Matric 38.5% 34.7%
Higher education 14.7% 19.2%
Household Dynamics
Households 1 853 371 1 434 856
Average household size 2.7 2.8
Female headed households 37.7% 36.2%
Formal dwellings 81.3% 81.4%
Housing owned 51.7% 40.2%
Household Services
Flush toilet connected to sewerage 88.6% 87.1%
Weekly refuse removal 85.4% 95.3%
Piped water inside dwelling 60.3% 64.7%
Electricity for lighting 90.9% 90.8%

Council & Management

Composition of Council:
ANC 122, DA 103, EFF 30, IFP 5, AIC 4, ACDP 1, ALJAMA 1, COPE 1, PA 1, UDM 1, VF PLUS 1
Controlling Party:
DA Minority Government
Mr Herman Mashaba
Deputy Mayor:
Vasco da Gama
Chief Whip:
Mlungiseli Ngalonkulu (Deputy Chief Whip)
Kevin Wax
Other Council:
Nico de Jager (MMC: Environment and Infrastructure Services)
Valencia Khumalo (MMC: Corporate and Shared Services)
Leah Knot (MMC: Economic Development)
Nonhlanhla Makhuba (MMC: Transport)
Reuben Masango (MMC: Development Planning)
Richard Ngobeni (MMC: Finance)
Mpho Phalatse (MMC: Health and Social Development)
Nonhlanhla Sifumba (MMC: Community Development)
Yao-Heng Sun (MMC: Public Safety)
Meshack van Wyk (MMC: Housing)
Municipal Manager:
Mr Ndivhoniswani Lukhwareni
Chief Financial Officer:
Ms Charity Wurayayi (Acting Group CFO)
Senior Management:
Dr Refik Bismilla (Executive Director: Health)
Floyd W Brink (Chief Operations Officer)
Jan Erasmus (Acting Group Strategy, Policy and Relations)
Lindiwe Hleza (Executive Director: Group Audit, Risk and Compliance)
Feroz Khan (Executive Head: Revenue and Customer Relations Management)
Kepi Madumo (Executive Director: Community Development)
Thabo Maisela (Acting Executive Director: Housing)
Tembeka Mhlekwa (Executive Director: Economic Development)
Isaac Mogashoa (Group Head: Legal and Contracts)
Amolemo Mothoagae (Executive Head: Development Planning)
Sinovuyo Mpakama (Group Head: Treasury and Financial Strategy)
Tinashe Mushayanyama (Group Head: Social Development)
Cynthia Numaio (Executive Director: Group Corporate and Shared Services)
Raj Pillay (Acting Group Head: Group Governance)
Lisa Seftel (Executive Director: Transport)
Lunelle Serobatse (Acting ED: Environment, Infrastructure and Services)
Vicky Shuping (Group Head: Customer Relations and Urban Management)
Communications Officers:
Georgina Lefifi (Acting Group Head: Group Communications)

Contact Details

Postal PO Box 1049, Johannesburg, 2000
Physical 158 Civic Boulevard, Braamfontein, Johannesburg
Tel 011 407 6111
Fax 011 403 8723
Web www.joburg.org.za

Resident Queries

Accounts 0860 562 874
Electricity 0860 562 874
Refuse & Waste 0860 562 874
Roads 0860 562 874
Service Delivery 011 203 3300
Water 0860 562 874